Multiplayer

From Baldur's Gate 3 Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Withers' Wardrobe of Wayward Friends

Multiplayer is a mode of play in Baldur's Gate 3 that allows cooperative gameplay with up to four players.

Creating a multiplayer game[edit | edit source]

You can either create a new game that is multiplayer enabled from the beginning, or enable multiplayer in an existing single player game.

Note that the creator of a multiplayer save must host any additional sessions; multiplayer games may be run with any of the other players absent, or even in single player, but may not be run without the host. The host will also be the sole player responsible for saving and loading (although any player may trigger autosaves.) Absent players may be used as companions or stored in Withers' Wardrobe of Wayward Friends.

After navigating to Multiplayer, then to Create, configuring settings, and having the desired number of players join, the host may Launch the game, which will function much the same as beginning a solo campaign. While additional players (up to four total -- the host and three more) may join the game at any time, Origin Characters, including the Dark Urge, may only be selected during this initial Character Creation when the save is first being created.

Multiplayer has the same Difficulty options as single player, as well as four multiplayer specific options.

Options for multiplayer:

  • Number of Slots - How many total players may join your game. Default 4.
  • Online Visibility - Who can see your game in the multiplayer browser. Default 'Friends Only' (despite Closed being noted as default).
  • LAN Connections - Whether to accept connections from other machines on your same network. Default unchecked.
  • Direct Connections - Generates a randomized code that another player can enter to join your game. Default unchecked.

Joining a multiplayer game[edit | edit source]

The player will be prompted to create a character, just like in single player. As long as this player is connected to the game, their character will be a mandatory character in the party. As long as players are connected to the game, player generated characters may not be left at camp (such as to switch them out for companions.) However, offline players' characters may be dismissed to Withers' Wardrobe of Wayward Friends via dialogue. A player rejoining will automatically put their character back in the party.

While Origin Characters may be selected by any player during initial game creation, players who join after the game is started may only create a custom character.

Multiplayer menu[edit | edit source]

To modify the multiplayer settings of your game after creation, go to the Menu and then select Multiplayer. In the Multiplayer menu you can assign players to certain characters, as well as assign companions to be controlled by a player. By clicking the gear icon at the top of the screen, you can modify your multiplayer settings. Returning to the Main Menu or restarting the game will reset these settings back to the defaults; the settings do not persist via saved games.

Converting a single player game to multiplayer[edit | edit source]

While playing in single player, open the menu and click on Session. Set your 'Online Visibility' to the appropriate setting for the type of players you want to join. Any players joining at this point may only create custom characters, and may not select any Origin Characters.

Player characters in multiplayer[edit | edit source]

As long as their players are connected to the multiplayer game, player characters cannot be grouped with each other, spoken to, or controlled by other players. When players are not connected to the game, however, their characters may be used by other players like companions. To dismiss an absent player's character, simply speak to them and send them to camp; they will be stored in Withers' Wardrobe of Wayward Friends at the Campsite, which they can be removed from manually (by dragging their icon out onto the ground, like an item) or automatically, which happens when the player rejoins the game.

Companions in multiplayer[edit | edit source]

Companions are only controlled by one player at a time. In order to reassign which character is controlled by which player, go to the menu and then click Session. Here you can reassign characters to different players. While companions in camp may be interacted with freely, companions in the party may only be spoken to by the player who controls them. While, in rare cases, some plot events may briefly add a fifth member to a four-player multiplayer party, such as meeting Lae'zel on the Nautiloid, players do count towards your maximum party size of four; companions will refuse to join a party of four players (or a party of two players and two companions, etc.)

Companions will have separate Approval ratings for each player.

Loading a multiplayer game[edit | edit source]

To load a multiplayer game that was already started, load the game just like in single player. The client will automatically make the session a multiplayer session using Friends Only setting without LAN or Direct Connections. NOTE: The game will do this by default for single player games as well as of August 10th, 2023.

Preventing others from joining your game[edit | edit source]

By default, Baldur’s Gate 3 sets your Session status to “Friends Only” (despite Closed being noted as the Default). This setting changes back to “Friends Only” each time you go back to the Main Menu. To prevent others from joining your game, set your Online Visibility in the Session menu to Closed every time you go back to the Main Menu or restart the game.